A marriage license is valid for ninety days from issuance. A seventy-two hour waiting period is required from the time the marriage license is issued until the wedding can take place unless, one of the applicants is in the military or a waiver of the waiting period is obtained from a District or County Court-at-Law Judge. Therefore, the wedding must take place at least 72 hours after the license is issued and before ninety days have passed from the date the license is issued.
Each applicant should bring Proof of Identity and Age when applying for the marriage license. Both applicants must swear or affirm that the information provided is correct and both sign the application for the marriage license.
Applicants can complete an online Marriage application on our Online Public Records website to expedite the process, but will still have to appear at the County Clerk’s office with valid identification to complete the application process. Be sure to inform the clerk you have completed the online application.
What is Twogether in Texas? It is a state program working in partnership with a federal Healthy Marriage Initiative. Each person applying for a marriage license is encouraged to attend a premarital education course of at least eight hours during the year preceding the date of the application for the license.
A county clerk may not issue a marriage license if either applicant is under 18 years of age, unless each underage applicant shows that the applicant has been granted by this state or another state a court order removing the disabilities of minority of the applicant for general purposes. Sec. 2.003 FC
The person who conducts a marriage ceremony shall record on the license the date on which and the county in which the ceremony is preformed and the person’s name, subscribe the license, and return the unexpired license to our office by not later than the 30th day after the date the ceremony is conduced. (A person who fails to comply with this section commits an offense which is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than $200 and not more than $500).
It may take up to 7-10 business days to receive your original license in the mail by the person who conducts the marriage ceremony. Once received, the clerk shall record a returned marriage license and mail the license to the address indicated on the application. However, if it is needed sooner, once recorded by our office a certified copy of the license and application may be obtained from our office for $7.00, the county clerk may e-mail the marriage license to an email address provided to the county clerk by the applicants in addition to mailing the license. (If you are going to change your last name you will need a certified copy to take to the Social Security Administration & the Department of Public Safety office.)
If for any reason the marriage license is unused, please return it to our office along with a note stating that it was unused. If the license is never returned with an explanation, the record reflects that it was issued but not recorded, therefore the outcome is unknown.
A person who conducts a marriage ceremony after the marriage license has expired commits an offense. An Offense under this section is a misdemeanor punishable by fine of not less than $200 and more than $500.
A couple may sign a Declaration of Informal Marriage (Texas Family Code, Subchapter E). To be eligible for an informal license, both participants must be over 18. A person may not be a party to an informal marriage or execute a declaration of an informal marriage if the person is presently married to a person who is not the other party to the informal marriage or declaration of an informal marriage, as applicable.
At the Clerk’s Office, the couple will complete a Declaration of Informal Marriage License and pay the $46.00 fee. Both applicants must swear or affirm that the information provided is correct and both sign the declaration. The Declaration of Informal Marriage will show the date the couple agreed to be married. The date can be the current date or any prior date the couple could legally marry. On execution of the declaration, the county clerk shall record the declaration or certificate of informal marriage; deliver the original of the certificate of informal marriage to the parties. An executed declaration or a certificate of informal marriage recorded as provided in this section is prima facie evidence of the marriage of the parties. A person commits an offense if the person knowingly provides false, fraudulent, or otherwise inaccurate proof of the person's identity or age under this section. An offense under this subsection is a Class A misdemeanor.