Jefferson County Historical Commission


Jefferson County, Texas

The Certified Local Government Program is a preservation partnership between 3 government agencies:

  • local (Jefferson County)
  • state (Texas Historical Commission)
  • federal government (the National Park Service)

who are focused on promoting historic preservation at the grass roots level. The program is jointly administered by the National Park Service (NPS) and the State Historic Preservation Offices (SHPOs) in each state, with each local community working through a certification process to become recognized as a Certified Local Government (CLG). CLGs then become an active partner in the Federal Historic Preservation Program and the opportunities it provides.

     Committee Members

  • Theresa Goodness, Historic Preservation Officer
  • Bruce Hamilton
  • Linda McMahen
  • Paul Prosperie

Jefferson Government Map


Jefferson County was approved as a Certified Local Government on March 22, 2012, by the National Park Service.